One Month Mark!

Wow, it’s so hard to believe that I said goodbye my family in a hotel lobby one month ago. In some ways it seems like it’s been way longer than that, but it’s difficult to wrap my head around the fact that I’m already at the one month mark. I have to apologize for my lack of posting. Language camp was an AMAZING experience that I can’t even begin to describe. Honestly though, for any future CBYXers you’ll meet INCREDIBLE people and have the time of your life. Although three weeks may seem like a long time, it flies by SO quickly. I didn’t post while I was at camp, because I was always busy with classes and stuff like that. But, in some ways I think language camp should be an adventure and that you shouldn’t know what’s going to happen ahead of time. The mystery of it all is what makes it so much fun and brings you close together with so many great, life-long friends.

Language camp nostalgia aside, my host family is amazing. I honestly can’t imagine a more welcoming, friendly family, or a better match to me. Just like me, my host family is quirky and they LOVE to have fun! I’ve only technically been here for a week, but I feel so much like I’m part of the family. I know it’s only been a week, but feels like I’ve been here for so much longer. They are so welcoming, like I said, and so supportive of me. I still can’t believe how lucky I am to have been blessed with such a great family!

Now, school. School has been a bit rough for me. I’m currently at a bilingual school, where I’m taking Math, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, and Politics in Englisch, and then German, History, Drama, Spanish, and Religion in German. At mid-term in January, I’m going to switch to all German classes. Not knowing any German, and sitting through a class not understanding a word is definitely a bit discouraging. I know that the language won’t come overnight, but I definitely wish it would come a little faster(: Thankfully though, my host mom is AMAZING and has been working with me a lot. For any CBYXers who are starting off with no German, it’s important to realize that you CAN do it. It will be tough, and you won’t understand much of anything, but it’s important to keep working at it, and celebrate the little milestones. Today, I was at an auction and I couldn’t understand anything, EXCEPT for the numbers. That’s a start, and I definitely was excited about it(:

 

It’s still so crazy to think that that one month ago I left my family and friends behind and started to meet some of the best friends I could have imagined. So much has happened since then, and I can’t believe how much I’ve changed in the course of 30 days.

As always, if anyone has any questions about my experience, or the program feel free to email me at mariaingermany@gmail.com!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment